Senator David C. Ford Award

Senator David C. FordThis award is presented by the Indiana Geographic Information Council to an individual or organization for exemplary service and dedication above and beyond duties for accomplishments in coordinating Indiana GIS through dissemination of data and data products, education and outreach, adoption of standards, building partnerships, and advancing the IndianaMap.

The David C. Ford award honors historic accomplishments and/or lifetime achievements in support of the greater GIS community of Indiana. It is not specific to a single project, but recognition of an individual or organization for their ongoing commitment to improving the lives of all Hoosiers through GIS. (For project-based awards, see the Excellence in GIS Awards.)

About this Award

This award is named in honor of Indiana State Senator David C. Ford (1949-2008). Senator Ford was from Hartford City, Indiana and represented District 19 as a four-term lawmaker who served as Assistant Majority Floor Leader and chair of the Senate Committee on Economic Development and Technology.

IGIC owes a debt of gratitude to Senator Ford for his vision and understanding of the potential the IndianaMap holds for Indiana, and for co-sponsoring legislation passed in 2007 to institutionalize its support.

“I will always think that my role in GIS has been one of my proudest contributions to Indiana.”

Sen. David Ford personal correspondence, February 22, 2008.

Nomination Form

Click here to download nomination form – 2017 Ford Award nomination form

The nomination deadline is Monday April 10, 2017 by 10am.
Past Ford Award Winners

John Buechler
Jim Stout
Larry Stout

Sol Miller
Anna Radue