2024 Indiana GIS Conference Awards

Nomination deadline for all awards is March 15description goes here

IGIC strives to recognize geospatial professionals and organizations who, through their dedication and hard work, have helped improve the quality of life for all Hoosiers. Each year, in conjunction with IGIC’s annual Indiana GIS Conference, we honor outstanding projects and people through the following awards:

Senator David C. Ford Award
This award is presented by the Indiana Geographic Information Council to an individual for exemplary service and dedication above and beyond duties for accomplishments in coordinating Indiana GIS through dissemination of data and data products, education and outreach, adoption of standards, building partnerships, and advancing the IndianaMap.

Past Recipients

2023 Charline Avey
2023 Mike Davis
2023 Steve Leatherman
2021 Chris Dintaman
2021 Bill Holder
2020 David Knipe
2020 Kent Park
2019 Phil Worrall
2018 Becky McKinley
2018 Jim Sparks
2016 John Buechler
2016 Rick Hill
2016 Jim Stout
2016 Larry Stout
2014 Sol Miller
2014 Anna Radue
2011 David Bodenhamer
2010 Irvin Goldblatt
2010 Paul Irwin
2010 Lorraine Wright
2009 Indiana University - University Information Technology Services
2009 Jill Saligoe-Simmel


Excellence in GIS Awards
Each year, IGIC honors outstanding projects through our Excellence in GIS Award. This award recognizes organizations in six different categories for their use of geospatial technology to improve our world. Eligible projects are those developed, completed, or that reached a significant milestone in 2023 or 2024. 

Special Achievement in GIS Award
This award recognizes special geospatial projects developed through teamwork that demonstrate commitment to working with others in the Indiana GIS community toward a common goal, while performing important, often pioneering work, to create an outstanding information resource. Eligible projects are those developed, completed, or that reached a significant milestone in 2023 or 2024.